Menu

AG Stabilization

MONOCAB OWL is supported by:

WG Management

  • Martin Griese

    iFE - Institute for Energy Research / Institute Future Energy. Ostwestfalen-Lippe University of Applied Sciences / OWL

Info about the Stabilization Working Group

Primary and secondary stabilization system

The stabilization working group includes the design and construction of the active primary and secondary stabilization system, with the aim of keeping the vehicle in a vertical position above the rail.
For this purpose, dynamic and stationary disturbances (wind, passengers) must be compensated and introduced angular momentum must be compensated. The compensation of dynamic, impulse-like disturbances is carried out by the gyroscopic actuator systems as a primary stabilization measure, while as a secondary measure the mechanics designed to shift the batteries compensate for stationary disturbances by shifting the vehicle's center of gravity.
The gyroscopes used for stabilization are supplemented with an active control system, which is characterized by the fact that a tilting motion of the gyro-stabilized vehicle is compensated for by suitable control of an actuator (e.g. electric servomotor) by rotating the axis of rotation of the gyroscopes in such a way that the gyro torques thus generated restore the desired vertical position of the vehicle. The necessary speed of movement of the gyro axes is calculated from the measurement of the tilting motion via a suitable sensor in the control algorithm.

 

Suitable stabilization of the vehicle on a rail requires that the vehicle's center of gravity (C.G.) is located directly above the rail and at an optimized height. This height must be determined in the project via simulations and model calculations in order to sound out a suitable compromise between sensitivity and reaction moments. The SP depends of course on the design of the vehicle (mass distribution), but also on the load or passenger distribution in the vehicle. Especially the latter aspects cannot be planned. In order to optimize gyro stabilization and thus make do with smaller gyro systems, a device for adjusting the center of gravity is additionally integrated. For this purpose, the vehicle is equipped with a displaceable mass so that the position of the center of gravity is made possible by suitable control of the displacement device. The displaceable mass is preferably provided by the vehicle battery (in the case of a battery-electric vehicle) and/or by the gyro system, both of which are heavy but compact technical components in the vehicle.

Stabilization cannot be achieved in a practical form in terms of safety and comfort either with an active gyroscope or with weight shifting as the sole stabilization system. With an exclusively active gyro stabilization system, stabilizing but limited angular momentum can be generated very quickly. If there is a stationary disturbance of the equilibrium due to crosswind or one-sided loading, this would have to be compensated by a permanent tilting (deviation from the geometric vertical position) of the vehicle. This is inadmissible for operation for the following reasons: Lack of comfort, possible collision when passing MONOCABs or at stopping points, and possible wheel-rail contact problems. Exclusive stabilization via weight shifting must also be ruled out, since this is problematic from a system/control point of view (non-minimum-phase behavior of the system), can also theoretically only function at very low center of gravity positions of the shiftable masses, and requires very powerful actuators for sufficient dynamics, which are unsuitable for vehicle operation in terms of weight, installation space and energy consumption.

The system-technical interaction of both stabilization measures is therefore required. Taking the safety concept into account, a powerful control system for the primary and secondary stabilization system must be developed which, in addition to position control, includes independent monitoring, including redundant sensors for gyro, battery and vehicle position, in order to ensure the required fail-safe behavior. In addition to the formulated goal of keeping the vertical position of the MONOCAB stable, another goal is to guide the gyro systems into the neutral position. For this control task, state control, multivariable cascade control and combinations of the two variants are conceivable. The development of the closed-loop and open-loop control system is largely model-based and is being comprehensively investigated both with simulation support and with test bench setups. This step takes place before integration into the prototypes, so that errors during development (e.g. due to disregard of non-modeled effects) can still be corrected.

For the MONOCAB, in the event of a system failure, it must be ensured that the vehicle does not tilt completely out of a tolerance range around the vertical position. System failures to be considered are events that make active stabilization via the described combined gyro and weight stabilization system impossible, such as failures of the electrical supply, the position sensors (error message/deviation of redundant sensors), the actuators, the vehicle-internal communication or the control system (deviation/error of the monitoring redundant control units). In such cases, passive stabilization can be achieved for a limited time: After system failure, the gyro(s) continue(s) to have a high rotational speed, which is reduced only very slowly in the vacuum gears. If the gyro frame(s) is/are no longer forcibly guided by an actuator but is/are placed in an unstable position by a passive mechanical device (e.g. a spring), the interaction between the vehicle and the gyro frame results in stabilization in the sense of raising the vehicle.
However, this operating state is itself unstable, since the vehicle performs an oscillation about the longitudinal axis with increasing amplitude and would finally overturn. Depending on the damping in the system, however, sufficient time remains to initiate emergency braking, extend a support system and bring the vehicle into a safe operating state.
The following components are to be developed specifically for this purpose:

  • a mechanical device (safety coupling) that decouples the moving gyro frame from its actuator and simultaneously couples it to mechanical system that applies destabilizing torque to the gyro frame,
  • an electromechanical device in which the process described above is automatically triggered, e.g. in the event of a voltage drop at an electromechanical actuator which is energized during normal operation, if the voltage supply fails or control devices trigger a deliberate shutdown (intrinsic safety),
  • an emergency procedure in which passive stabilization is used to bring the vehicle to a safe state in the event of the system failure described above,
  • an emergency support used for this purpose, which can also be activated passively in the event of system failure, i.e. without control and electrical supply, e.g. by springs or pneumatic reserve energy.

Time-limited passive stabilization can also be achieved if the circular actuator acts at the base of the instabilizing spring instead of the safety coupling (sequential arrangement).
In the event of a fault, the gyro actuator is then, depending on the type of fault, either moved to the neutral position or held passively (due to self-locking) or actively (with a separate braking device) in its instantaneous position. As an alternative concept without the installation of a gyro actuator or as an emergency control in the event of failure of the gyro actuator, stabilization can be achieved exclusively with weight shifting as the only adjustment option in the overall system. The oscillation of the passive gyro stabilization is suppressed by an angular momentum component introduced specifically by means of weight shifting.

Tertiary stabilization/support system

A mechanical support system is planned as the tertiary stabilization system for emergencies and for supporting the parked and switched-off MONOCABs. In order to be able to guarantee a fail-safe behavior of the system in any expected situation, a monitoring and control concept of various system functions must be realized. Among other things, a redundant position sensor system is planned. In the event of a failure of the control system or the electrical supply, the gyro system is to be switched to passive operation (free movement) and, in uncontrollable cases, to neutral operation (blocking). In particular, the requirements of the safety concept must be taken into account.

Integration and testing of the stabilization system

The integration of all components and testing of the stabilization system is planned for the final phase. For this purpose, among other things, a test bench is to be developed that can be used to simulate different scenarios of rail operation under the influence of external disturbances (including emergency situations).

In the test rig, the chassis is replaced by swivel joints in order to reproduce the movement of the vehicle over a virtual rail by means of an active fu point displacement. In addition to suitable linear drives, various mechanical adaptations and sufficient metrological instrumentation of the integrated components and the test rig are required (sensors for torques, forces and positions). A real-time system must be integrated to record the measured values and to control the test bench.

After initial commissioning of the stabilization system, all components in the network are to be tested during normal operation and various fault scenarios. Early tests with real components are intended to reveal possible inadequacies and errors (e.g. disregard of dominant non-modeled effects) so that any errors can be corrected in a further iteration, if necessary, before the final integration of the systems into the complete vehicle. In this way, it can be ensured with a high degree of probability that the systems will work reliably in subsequent tests with the complete vehicle and that the planned fail-safe concept will function.

The integration of all components into the frame, the construction of the test stands as well as the implementation and testing of the control technology requires competences in the fields of control engineering, mechatronics and construction. The processing is carried out in a cooperative manner by the working group of Prof. Schulte and Prof. Kiesel.

Publications

  • Georg Klepp, Guido Langer: Monorail Flow Patterns and Vehicle Drag. In: Aerovehicles 4-Fourth International Conference in Numerical and Experimental Aerodynamics of Road Vehicles and Trains, Berlin, August 2021.
  • Martin Griese, Fabian Kottmeier, Thomas Schulte: Vertical control of a self-stabilizing monorail vehicle. In: IECON 2021-47th Annual Conference of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society. 13-16 October 2021.
  • Martin Griese, Seyed Davood Mousavi, Thomas Schulte: Modeling the vertical dynamics of a self-stabilizing monorail vehicle. In: ICCMA 2021- 9th International Conference on Control, Mechatronics and Automation. 11-14 November 2021.

The team

Menü

AG Stabilisierung

MONOCAB OWL wird gefördert durch:

AG-Leitung

  • Martin Griese

    iFE – Institut für Energieforschung / Institute Future Energy. Technische Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe / OWL

Infos über die Arbeitsgruppe Stabilisierung

Primäres und sekundäres Stabilisierungssystem

Die Arbeitsgruppe Stabilisierung beinhaltet die Konstruktion und den Aufbau des aktiven primären und sekundären Stabilisierungssystems, mit dem Ziel das Fahrzeug in einer vertikalen Position über der Schiene zu halten.
Dazu müssen dynamische und stationäre Störungen (Wind, Passagiere) ausgeglichen und eingebrachte Drehimpulse kompensiert werden. Die Kompensation von dynamischen, impulsartigen Störungen erfolgt durch die aktorischen Kreiselsysteme als primäre Stabilisierungsmaßnahme während als sekundäre Maßnahme die konstruierte Mechanik zur Verschiebung der Batterien stationäre Störung kompensiert, indem ein Verlagerung des Gewichtsschwerpunkts des Fahrzeugs erfolgt.
Die zur Stabilisierung genutzten Kreisel werden mit einer aktiven Regelung ergänzt, die dadurch gekennzeichnet ist, dass durch eine geeignete Ansteuerung eines Stellglieds (z. B. elektrischer Servomotor) eine Kippbewegung des kreiselstabilisierten Fahrzeugs ausgeglichen wird, indem die Rotationsachse der Kreisel so gedreht wird, dass die dadurch erzeugten Kreiseldrehmomente die angestrebte Vertikalposition des Fahrzeugs wiederherstellen. Dabei wird aus der Messung der Kippbewegung über einen geeigneten Sensor im Regelalgorithmus die notwendige Bewegungsgeschwindigkeit der Kreiselachsen berechnet.

 

Eine geeignete Stabilisierung des Fahrzeugs auf einer Schiene bedingt, dass der Fahrzeugschwerpunkt (SP) unmittelbar über der Schiene und in einer optimierten Höhe liegt. Diese Höhe muss im Projekt über Simulationen und Modellrechnungen ermittelt werden, um eine geeigneten Kompromiss zwischen Empfindlichkeit und Reaktionsmomenten auszuloten. Der SP hängt natürlich von der Konstruktion des Fahrzeugs (Massenverteilung), aber auch von der Ladungs- oder Personenverteilung im Fahrzeug ab. Gerade die zuletzt genannten Aspekte sind nicht planbar. Um die Kreiselstabilisierung zu optimieren und so mit kleineren Kreiselsystemen auszukommen, wird ergänzend eine Vorrichtung zur Schwerpunktanpassung integriert. Das Fahrzeug wird dazu mit einer verschiebbaren Masse ausgestattet, so dass die Lage des Schwerpunktes durch eine geeignete Ansteuerung der Verlagerungsvorrichtung erm glicht wird. Die verschiebbare Masse ist als bevorzugte Ausführung durch die Fahrzeugbatterie (im Falle eines batterieelektrischen Fahrzeugs) und/oder durch das Kreiselsystem jeweils als schwere aber kompakte technische Komponenten im Fahrzeug gegeben.

Die Stabilisierung ist in einer bzgl. Sicherheit und Komfort praktikablen Form weder mit einem aktiven Kreisel noch mit einer Gewichtsverlagerung als jeweils alleiniges Stabilisierungssystem erreichbar. Durch ein ausschließlich aktives Kreiselstabilisierungssystem können sehr schnell stabilisierende aber begrenzte Drehimpulse erzeugt werden. Liegt durch Seitenwind oder einseitige Beladung eine stationäre Störung des Gleichgewichts vor, müsste dies durch eine permanente Schräglage (Abweichung von der geometrischen Vertikalposition) des Fahrzeugs ausgeglichen werden. Dies ist aus den folgenden Gründen für den Betrieb unzulässig: Mangelnder Komfort, mögliche Kollision beim Passieren von MONOCABs oder bei Haltepunkten und mögliche Probleme beim Rad-Schiene-Kontakt. Eine ausschließliche Stabilisierung über eine Gewichtsverlagerung ist ebenfalls auszuschließen, da diese system-/regelungstechnisch problematisch ist (nicht-minimalphasiges Verhalten des Systems), auch theoretisch nur bei sehr niedrigen Schwerpunktlagen der verschiebbaren Massen funktionieren kann und für eine ausreichende Dynamik sehr leistungsstarke Stellantriebe benötigt, die bzgl. Gewicht, Bauraum und Energieverbrauch für den Fahrzeugbetrieb ungeeignet sind.

Das systemtechnische Zusammenwirken beider Stabilisierungsmaßnahmen ist somit erforderlich.. Unter Berücksichtigung des Sicherheitskonzeptes ist ein leistungsstarkes Regelungs- und Steuerungssystem für das primäre und sekundäre Stabilisierungssystem zu entwickeln, das neben der Lageregelung eine unabhängige Überwachung einschlie lich redundanter Sensorik für Kreisel-, Batterie und Fahrzeugposition beinhaltet, um das erforderliche Fail-Safe-Verhalten zu gewährleisten. Neben dem formulierten Ziel, dass die Vertikalposition des MONOCABs stabil gehalten wird, besteht ein weiteres Ziel darin die Kreiselsysteme in die Neutralstellung zu führen. Für diese regelungstechnische Aufgabe sind Zustandsregelungen, Mehrgrößen-Kaskadenregelung und Kombinationen der beiden Varianten denkbar. Die Entwicklung des Regelungs- und Steuerungssystems erfolgt maßgeblich modellbasiert und wird sowohl simulationsgestützt als auch mit Prüfstandsaufbauten umfassend untersucht. Dieser Schritt erfolgt vor der Integration in die Prototypen, sodass Fehler bei der Entwicklung (z. B. durch Missachtung nicht-modellierter Effekte) noch behoben werden können.

Für das MONOCAB muss im Fall eines Systemausfalls sichergestellt sein, dass das Fahrzeug nicht vollständig aus einem Toleranzbereich um die Vertikalposition kippt. Als Systemausf lle sind solche Ereignisse zu berücksichtigen, die eine aktive Stabilisierung über das beschriebene kombinierte Kreisel- und Gewichtsstabilisierungssystem unm glich machen, wie Ausf lle der elektrischen Versorgung, der Lagesensorik (Fehlermeldung/Abweichung redundanter Sensoren), der Stellantriebe, der fahrzeuginternen Kommunikation oder der Regelung (Abweichung/Fehler der sich überwachenden redundanten Steuerger te). In solchen Fällen kann zeitlich begrenzt eine passive Stabilisierung erreicht werden: Der/die Kreisel verfügen nach Systemausfall weiterhin über eine hohe Rotationsgeschwindigkeit, die sich in den Vakuumgeh usen nur sehr langsam reduziert. Wird der/die Kreiselrahmen nicht mehr durch einen Stellantrieb zwangsgeführt, sondern durch eine passive mechanische Vorrichtung (z. B. eine Feder) in eine instabile Lage versetzt, so erfolgt in der Wechselwirkung zwischen Fahrzeug und Kreiselrahmen eine Stabilisierung im Sinne des Aufrichtens des Fahrzeugs.
Dieser Betriebszustand ist allerdings selbst instabil, da das Fahrzeug eine Schwingung um die Längsachse mit steigender Amplitude durchführt und final umstürzen würde. Je nach Dämpfung im System verbleibt jedoch eine ausreichende Zeit, um eine Notbremsung einzuleiten, ein Abstützsystem auszufahren und das Fahrzeug in einen sicheren Betriebszustand zu bringen.
Hierfür sind konkret folgende Komponenten zu entwickeln:

  • eine mechanische Vorrichtung (Sicherheitskupplung), die den beweglichen Kreiselrahmen von seinem Stellantrieb entkoppelt und gleichzeitig an mechanisches System koppelt, das ein Destabilisierungsdrehmoment auf den Kreiselrahmen aufbringt,
  • eine elektromechanische Vorrichtung, bei der der zuvor beschriebene Vorgang, z. B. bei Spannungsabfall an einem im Normalbetrieb bestromten elektromechanische Aktor automatisch ausgelöst wird, wenn die Spannungsversorgung ausfält oder Steuergeräte eine gewollte Abschaltung auslösen (Eigensicherheit),
  • eine Notfallprozedur, bei der im Falle des oben beschriebenen Systemausfalls die passive Stabilisierung genutzt wird, um das Fahrzeug in einen sicheren Zustand zu bringen,
  • eine dafür genutzte Notabstützung, die bei Systemausfall auch passiv aktiviert werden kann, d. h. ohne Steuerung und elektrischer Versorgung, z. B. durch Federn oder pneumatische Reserveenergie.

Eine zeitbegrenzte passive Stabilisierung lässt sich auch erreichen, wenn an Stelle der Sicherheitskupplung der Kreiselaktor am Fußpunkt der Instabilisierungsfeder wirkt (sequenzielle Anordnung).
Im Fall eines Fehlers wird der Kreiselaktor dann, je nach Art des Fehlers, entweder in die Neutralposition gefahren oder passiv (aufgrund von Selbsthemmung) oder aktiv (mit separater Bremsvorrichtung) in seiner Augenblicksposition festgehalten. Als alternatives Konzept ohne Verbau eines Kreiselaktors oder als Notlaufregelung bei Ausfalls des Kreiselaktors kann die Stabilisierung ausschließlich mit der Gewichtsverlagerung als einzige Stellmöglichkeit im Gesamtsystem erfolgen. Das Aufschwingen der passiven Kreiselstabilisierung wird dabei durch einen, gezielt mittels Gewichtsverlagerung eingebrachten, Drehimpulsanteil unterdrückt.

Tertiäres Stabilisierungs-/Abstützsystem

Als tertiäres Stabilisierungssystem für Notfälle und für das Abstützen der geparkten und abgeschalteten MONOCABs ist ein mechanisches Abstützsystem geplant. Um in jeder zu erwartenden Situation ein Fail-Safe-Verhalten des Systems garantieren zu können, muss ein  berwachungs- und  bersteuerungskonzept diverser Systemfunktionen realisiert werden. So ist u. A. eine redundante Lagesensorik vorgesehen. Für das Kreiselsystem ist bei Ausfall der Steuerung oder der elektrischen Versorgung ein Umschalten auf passiven Betrieb (freie Bewegung) und in unkontrollierbaren Fällen eine Neutralschaltung (blockieren) geplant. Hierbei sind insbesondere die Anforderungen aus dem in Sicherheitskonzeptes zu berücksichtigen.

Integration und Test des Stabilisierungssystems

Final ist die Integration aller Komponenten und das Testen des Stabilisierungssystems geplant. Dazu ist u. A. ein Prüfstand zu entwickeln, mit dem unterschiedliche Szenarien des Fahrbetriebs auf der Schiene unter Einfluss von externen Störungen (auch Notfallsituationen) nachbildbar sind.

Im Prüfstand wird das Fahrwerk durch Drehgelenke ersetzt, um die Bewegung des Fahrzeugs über einer virtuellen Schiene durch eine aktive Fu punktverschiebung abzubilden. Neben passenden Linearantriebe sind diverse mechanische Adaptionen sowie eine ausreichende messtechnische Instrumentierung der integrierten Komponenten und des Prüfstands erforderlich (Sensoren für Drehmomente, Kräfte und Positionen). Zur Erfassung der Messwerte und zur Ansteuerung des Prüfstands ist ein Echtzeitsystem zu integrieren.

Nach einer Erstinbetriebnahme des Stabilisierungssystems sind aller Komponenten im Verbund bei Normalbetrieb und diversen Fehlerszenarien zu testen. Durch frühe Tests mit realen Komponenten sollen m gliche Unzul nglichkeiten und Fehler (z. B. Missachtung dominanter nichtmodellierter Effekte) aufgedeckt werden, sodass vor der finalen Integration der Systeme in das Gesamtfahrzeug in einer ggf. weiteren Iteration etwaige Fehler noch behoben werden können. Somit kann abschlie end mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit sichergestellt werden, dass die Systeme bei späteren Tests mit dem Gesamtfahrzeug zuverl ssig arbeiten und das geplante Fail-Safe-Konzept funktioniert.

Die Integration aller Komponenten in den Rahmen, der Aufbau der Prüfst nde sowie die Implementierung und Erprobung der Regelungs- und Steuerungstechnik erfordert Kompetenzen in den Bereichen Regelungstechnik, Mechatronik und Konstruktion. Die Bearbeitung erfolgt in einer kooperativen Weise durch die Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Schulte und Prof. Kiesel.

Veröffentlichungen

  • Georg Klepp, Guido Langer: Monorail Flow Patterns and Vehicle Drag. In: Aerovehicles 4–Fourth International Conference in Numerical and Experimental Aerodynamics of Road Vehicles and Trains, Berlin, August 2021.
  • Martin Griese, Fabian Kottmeier, Thomas Schulte: Vertical control of a self-stabilizing monorail vehicle. In: IECON 2021-47th Annual Conference of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society. 13-16 Oktober 2021.
  • Martin Griese, Seyed Davood Mousavi, Thomas Schulte: Modeling the vertical dynamics of a self-stabilizing monorail vehicle. In: ICCMA 2021- 9th International Conference on Control, Mechatronics and Automation. 11-14 November 2021.

Das Team

Große Präsentation am 03.10.2022