Menu

AG Cabin Design

MONOCAB OWL is supported by:

WG Management

  • Prof. Hans Sachs

    TH OWL - Teaching area CAAD

  • Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Ulrich Nether

    TH OWL - Department Detmold School of Architecture and Interior Design

Info about the cabin design working group

New mobility

Due to climate change, our mobility will change drastically in the coming years. A key role here lies not only in the much-discussed new drive technologies and their energy supply, but also in particular in more holistic and sustainable design approaches, more environmentally compatible manufacturing processes, and innovative and comprehensive mobility concepts. In rural areas in particular, there is still a lack of significant impetus and examples of public, easily accessible, individualizable and, above all, more sustainable mobility options.

Cabin design

The MONOCAB focuses holistically and comprehensively on new impulses and possibilities in the field of sustainability. The cabin of the vehicle is made of so-called NFK - natural fiber composites. The mold construction of the outer shell, which is developed with our partner Greenboats in Bremen and manufactured there, is based on flax fibers in combination with natural resins, which replace conventional chemical resins to the greatest possible extent. The interior of the cabin is largely manufactured on the basis of natural resources. In addition to cork, which is also used in the outer shell as a stabilizer and damper, organic materials such as wood, cellulose, natural textiles, and recycled plastics play the main role in production and equipment, which we manufacture together with our partners Isringhausen GmbH & Co. KG, Aunde , Becker KG and Nuo GmbH. Complex components, bonding and materials that are difficult to recycle have been avoided as far as possible and as successfully as possible.

Interaction - interfaces and user experience

The communication and equipment of the MONOCABs is highly interactive. All interior components can also be adapted to the individual needs of the passengers via UI (user interface). Thus, numerous configurations of a MONOCAB are possible to carry wheelchairs, bicycles (also cargo bikes), children, luggage or even freight. The UE (user experience), i.e. communication with the vehicle in terms of displays, lighting and audio, can also be customized. Information is conveyed according to the 2 senses principle and at the same time follows the principle of "Shy Technology". Media, lighting, acoustics and haptics were designed on the basis of personas, user stories and user scenarios. The IoT specialists Mindwalks, EnvueHomburg Lichtplanung and Enger were won as partners of the consortium for the development and implementation.

General conditions and vehicle dimensions

The technical and spatial conditions for the planned rail vehicle specify a maximum width of 120 cm. In addition, the cabin height is also limited to 160 cm above the frame. The technical and functional requirements result in a vehicle length of 525 cm. In order to achieve an overall width greater than 100 cm, the cab must lie asymmetrically on the longitudinal axis (track direction) or on the track. As a result, the load - e.g. the passengers in the cab compartment - is positioned as off-center as possible. In addition, the dynamic counterweights ensure that the vehicle is balanced. The cabin interior should also be easy to use and accessible for people in wheelchairs and for carrying bicycles. To this end, the design was guided and driven by standards and benchmarks of universal design and inclusion. For materialization or production, renewable, recycled and recyclable raw materials were strived for as far as possible. In addition, the principle of cradle-to-cradle in the composition of materials and components was and is pursued wherever possible.

 

Teamwork at MONOCAB OWL

All steps of the cabin development take place in close continuous coordination with the various working groups, whereby in particular technical-design aspects including aerodynamics, force behavior and chassis specifics are incorporated.
Two key decisions have been made in the development process:

  1. the floor assembly is separated from the car body except for power supply interfaces
  2. Due to the short project duration, three demonstrators will be developed, two as planned as technical driving demonstrators with a design-simplified cabin, which is laid out for the laboratory tests and shows the technology, one as a technically non-functional pure concept vehicle, which presents possible design and usage qualities in the sense of an exhibition model.

(Material) experiments, mock-ups, simulations

Experiments with mock ups on a scale of 1:1 developed the concept of a two-part cabin that can accommodate a maximum of six adults in normal operation. One-and-a-half-meter-wide door openings that swing open toward the platform in the lower part expand the floor space at the stop and make the MONOCAB wheelchair-compatible.
In an iterative process, 3D models were constructed, material samples, design and manufacturing tests were conducted. In addition, alternative designs for the exterior shell and interior, lighting, information and graphics, UI/UX were created. The design concepts were each compared and reflected upon, as well as experienced in the simulation of usage scenarios. For this purpose, physical mockups, VR projections, visualizations, animations as well as detailed tests on a scale of 1:1 were carried out.

Concept outer shell

After a "design freeze" in June 2021, the outer hull was formulated and detailed in terms of design and construction using NFK (natural fiber composite) technology, bio-resins reinforced with flax fibers. For this, the sailing yacht construction company Greenboats, which is experienced in this innovative technology, was won as a partner. By the end of 2021, all details for mold construction had been developed and fixed. The mold elements of the design concept vehicle were simplified for the technical demonstrators.

Interior concept

For the interior of the concept vehicle, flexible seats and functional elements in molded plywood were designed in consultation and exchange with the leading company in this technology, Becker KG (based in the region). Interior trim made of a CNC-processed real wood veneer composite with textile quality from the company Nuo, which was also won as a partner, finalizes the interior concept, which is new for vehicle construction. Upholstery elements and textiles were designed in coordination with the partner ISRI/Aunde, and flooring with Delignit, which is also based in the region. Standard benches from ISRI were modified for the technical demonstrators, and the floors will be transparent so that the gyroscope technology can also be shown during (test) operation.

Concept UI/UX

On the one hand, user interaction and user experience were conceived and designed on the basis of universal design, i.e. all information is offered according to the "two-senses principle" and is designed to be low-threshold and accessible. Furthermore, the concept is based on the so-called "Shy Technology" in which media is used with restraint compared to the concrete. In this way, a highly comfortable, user-centered driving experience is created with the least possible use of resources, combining individualizability and intuitive interaction in the best possible way. Media, lighting, acoustics and haptics were designed based on personas, user stories and user scenarios. The IoT specialists Mindwalks and EnvueHomburg Lichtplanung as well as the company Enger could be won for the development and implementation of the concept.

Dates of the working group

  • 19.05.2022 (Presentation Dörentrup) entire MONOCAB team
  • 01.05.2022 Open day Dörentrup, presentation MONOCAB design, VR/slideshow/demonstrator
  • 31.06.2022 Completion cabin cover NFC
  • 01.07. – 15.09.2022 Expansion demonstrator cabin design/tech
  • 01.09. – 30.09.2022 Structure presentation MONOCAB OWL

Publications

Ulrich Nether, Hans Sachs: Session "Future Transportation Design": MONOCAB OWL at the Detmold Conference Week "Design Strategies - Future Habitats" 2021, 16.11.2021 / Contribution: Carolina Meirelles, Maximilian Müh, MONOCAB OWL Presentation

The team

  • Maximilian Müh

    Employees AG Cabin

  • Carolina Meirelles Reis Sotero de Menezes

    Employee AG Cabin

Menü

AG Kabine Design

MONOCAB OWL wird gefördert durch:

AG-Leitung

  • Prof. Hans Sachs

    TH OWL – Lehrgebiet CAAD

  • Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Ulrich Nether

    TH OWL – Fachbereich Detmolder Schule für Architektur und Innenarchitektur

Infos über die Arbeitsgruppe Kabine Design

Neue Mobilität

Aufgrund des Klimawandels wird sich unsere Mobilität in den folgenden Jahren drastisch verändern. Eine Schlüsselrolle liegt hier nicht nur bei, viel diskutierten, neuen Antriebstechnologien und deren Energieversorgung sondern auch insbesondere in ganzheitlicheren und nachhaltigeren Gestaltungsansätzen, umweltverträglicheren Fertigungsverfahren sowie innovativen und umfassenden Mobilitätskonzepten. Gerade im ländlichen Raum fehlen hier noch maßgebliche Impulse und Beispiele für öffentliche, einfach zugängliche, individualisierbare und vor allem nachhaltigere Mobilitätsangebote.

Gestaltung der Kabine

Das MONOCAB setzt ganzheitlich und umfassend auf neue Impulse und Möglichkeiten im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit. Die Kabine des Fahrzeugs ist aus sogenannten NFK – Naturfaserverbundstoffen gerfertigt. Der Formenbau der Außenhülle, der mit unserem Partner Greenboats in Bremen entwickelt und dort fabriziert wird, basiert auf Flachsfasern in Kombination mit Naturharzen, die herkömmliche chemische Harze zum größtmöglichen Anteil ersetzen. Der Innenraum der Kabine wird maßgeblich auf Basis natürlicher Ressourcen gefertigt. Neben Kork, der auch in der Außenhülle als Stabilisator und Dämpfer eingesetzt wird, spielen organische Materialien wir Holz, Cellulose, Naturtexilien sowie recycelte Kunststoffe die Hauptrolle in Produktion und Ausstattung, die wir mit unseren Partnern Isringhausen GmbH & Co. KG, Aunde , Becker KG and Nuo GmbH entwickeln. Auf komplexe Bauteile, Verklebungen und schwer zu recycelnde Materialien wurde möglichst und weitestgehend erfolgreich verzichtet.

Interaktion – Schnittstellen und Nutzererlebnis

Die Kommunikation und Ausstattung der MONOCABs ist in höchstem Maße interaktiv. Sämtliche Innenraumkomponenten können per UI (User Interface) ebenfalls den individuellen Bedürfnissen der Fahrgäste angepasst werden. So sind zahlreiche Konfigurationen eines MONOCAB‘s zur Mitnahme von Rollstuhl-, Fahrradfahrern (auch Lastenrädern), Kindern, Gepäck oder sogar Fracht möglich. Die UE (User Experience) also die Kommunikation bzgl. Displays, Licht und Audio mit dem Fahrzeug lässt sich ebenfalls individualisieren. Informationen werden nach dem 2 Sinne Prinzip vermittelt und folgen gleichzeitig dem Prinzip „Shy Technology“.  Medien, Beleuchtung, Akustik und Haptik wurden auf Basis von Personas, User Stories und User Scenarios entworfen. Für die Entwicklung und Umsetzung konnten die IoT Spezialisten Mindwalks, EnvueHomburg Lichtplanung und Enger als Partner des Konsortiums gewonnen werden.

Rahmenbedingungen und Fahrzeugdimensionen

Die technischen und räumlichen Rahmenbedingungen für das geplante Schienenfahrzeug geben eine maximale Breite von 120 cm vor. Darüber hinaus ist die Kabinenhöhe mit 160 cm über dem Rahmen ebenfalls begerenzt. Aufgrund der technischen und funkionalen Anforderungen resultiert eine Fahrzeuglänge von 525 cm. Um eine größere Gesamtbreite als 100 cm zu erreichen muss die Kabine asymmetrisch auf der Längsachse (Gleisrichtung) bzw. auf dem Gleis liegen. In Folge wird die Beladung – z.B. die Passagiere im Kabinenraum möglichst außermittig positioniert. Zudem sorgen die dynamischen Ausgleichsgewichte für das Gleichgewicht des Fahrzeugs. Der Kabineninnenraum soll auch für Menschen im Rollstuhl und zur Fahrradmitnahme einfach nutzbar und zugänglich sein. Hierzu wurden entwurfsleitend und -treibend Normen und Maßstäbe des Universal Design und der Inklusion angesetzt. Für Materialisierung bzw. Produktion möglichst nachwachsende, recycelte und recycelbare Rohstoffe angestrebt. Darüber hinaus wurde und wird, wo möglich, das Prinzip Cradle-to-Cradle in der Zusammensetzung der Materialien und Bauteile verfolgt.

 

Teamwork beim MONOCAB OWL

Alle Schritte der Kabinenentwicklung finden in enger kontinuierlicher Abstimmung mit den verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen statt, wobei insbesondere technisch- konstruktive Aspekte einschließlich Aerodynamik, Kräfteverhalten und Fahrwerkspezifika einfließen.
Im Entwicklungsprozess sind zwei maßgebliche Entscheidungen getroffen worden:

  1. die Bodengruppe wird bis auf Energieversorgungsschnittstellen vom Kabinenaufbau separiert
  2. aufgrund der kurzen Projektlaufzeit werden drei Demonstratoren entwickelt, zwei wie geplant als technische fahrende Demonstratoren mit einer gestalterisch vereinfachten Kabine, die ausgelegt ist für die Laborversuche und die Technik zeigt, einer als technisch nicht funktionsfähiges reines Konzeptfahrzeug, das mögliche Design- und Nutzungsqualitäten präsentiert im Sinne eines Messemodells.

(Material-) Experimente, MockUps, Simulationen

Bei Experimenten mit Mock Ups im Maßstab 1:1 wurde das Konzept einer zweiteiligen Kabine entwickelt, in der im Normalbetrieb maximal sechs erwachsene Personen Platz finden. Eineinhalbmeter breite Türöffnungen, die im unteren Teil zum Bahnsteig hin aufklappen, erweitern die Bodenfläche an der Haltestelle und machen das MONOCAB rollstuhltauglich.
In einem iterativen Prozess wurden 3D Modelle konstruiert, Materialproben, Konstruktions- und Fertigungsversuche durchgeführt. Darüber hinaus wurden alternative Entwürfe für die Außenhülle und den Innenraum, Beleuchtung, Information und Grafik, UI/UX erstellt. Die Entwurfskonzepte wurden jeweils verglichen und reflektiert sowie in der Simulation von Nutzungsszenarien erfahrbar gemacht. Dazu wurden sowohl physische Mockups, VR Projektionen, Visualisierungen, Animationen als auch Detailversuche im Maßstab 1:1 durchgeführt.

Konzept Aussenhülle

Die Außenhülle wurde nach einem “Designfreeze” im Juni 2021 gestalterisch und konstruktiv in NFK (Naturfaserkomposit) Technik, mit Flachsfasern armierte Bioharze, ausformuliert und detailliert. Dafür wurde das in dieser innovativen Technik versierte Segelyachtbau Unternehmen Greenboats als Partner gewonnen. Bis Ende 2021 wurden alle Details für den Formenbau entwickelt und fixiert. Die Formelemente des Design Konzeptfahrzeugs wurden für die technischen Demonstratoren vereinfacht.

Konzept Interieur

Für das Interieur des Konzeptfahrzeugs wurden in Abstimmung und Austausch mit dem in dieser Technolgie führenden Unternehmen Becker KG (ansässig in der Region) flexible Sitze und Funktionselemente in Formsperrholz entworfen. Innenverkleidungen aus einem CNC-verarbeiteten Echtholzfurnierkomposit mit Textilqualität des Unternehmens Nuo, das ebenfalls als Partner gewonnen werden konnte, finalisieren das für den Fahrzeugbau neuartige Innenraumkonzept. Polsterelemente und Textilien wurden in Abstimmung mit dem Partner ISRI/Aunde konzipiert, Böden mit dem ebenso in der Region ansässigen Unternehmen Delignit. Für die technischen Demonstratoren wurden Standardbänke von ISRI modifiziert, die Böden werden transparent vorgesehen, so dass die Gyroskop-Technik auch während des (Test-) Betriebs gezeigt werden kann.

Konzept UI/UX

User Interaction und User Experience wurden einerseits auf der Grundlage des Universal Design konzipiert und entworfen, d.h. alle Informationen werden nach dem “Zwei-Sinne-Prinzip” angeboten und sind niederschwellig und zugänglich durchgestaltet. Des Weiteren orientiert sich das Konzept an der so genannten “Shy Technology” in der Mediales zurückhaltend gegenüber dem Konkreten eingesetzt wird. So wird mit einem möglichst geringen Einsatz von Ressourcen ein hochkomfortables, nutzerzentriertes Fahrerlebnis erzeugt, das in Individualisierbarkeit und intuitive Interaktion bestmöglich verbindet. Medien, Beleuchtung, Akustik und Haptik wurden auf Basis von Personas, User Stories und User Scenarios entworfen. Für die Entwicklung und Umsetzung des Konzeptes konnten die IoT Spezialisten Mindwalks und EnvueHomburg Lichtplanung sowie das Unternehmen Enger gewonnen werden.

Termine der Arbeitsgruppe

  • 19.05.2022 (Präsentation Dörentrup) gesamtes MONOCAB Team
  • 01.05.2022 Tag der offenen Tür Dörentrup, Präsentation MONOCAB Design, VR/Slideshow/Demonstrator
  • 31.06.2022 Fertigstellung Kabinenhülle NFC
  • 01.07. – 15.09.2022 Ausbau Demonstrator Kabine Design/Tech
  • 01.09. – 30.09.2022 Aufbau Präsentation MONOCAB OWL

Veröffentlichungen

Ulrich Nether, Hans Sachs: Session “Future Transportation Design”: MONOCAB OWL auf der Detmold Conference Week “Design Strategies – Future Habitats” 2021, 16.11.2021 / Beitrag: Carolina Meirelles, Maximilian Müh, MONOCAB OWL Presentation

Das Team

  • Maximilian Müh

    Mitarbeiter AG Kabine

  • Carolina Meirelles Reis Sotero de Menezes

    Mitarbeiterin AG Kabine

Große Präsentation am 03.10.2022